

HARTFORD, CT 06106

TO: All Registrars of Voters

FROM: Denise W. Merrill

Secretary of the State

DATE: April 25, 2018

RE: Annual Spring Conference

April 25 - 27, 2018

Radisson (Red Lion Hotel), Cromwell, CT

Once again, it's time for us to come together again to share ideas and to take part in training that will help each of us to better carry out our duties as election officials. We learn as much from these conferences as you do, and we enjoy the opportunity to meet colleagues we usually only communicate with via email or phone. The Spring Registrars of Voters Conference will be held at the Red Lion Hotel in Cromwell from April 25- April 27, 2018. Secretary of the State Day is Friday, April 27.

I encourage you to take advantage of this great training opportunity. As many of you know, Section 9-6 of the General Statutes provides that each registrar of voters, or in the absence of a registrar, the deputy registrar attending the conference shall be compensated by the municipality which they represent at the rate of \$35.00 per day, "plus mileage to and from such conference at the rate determined by the municipality, but not less than twenty cents per mile."

We know that most of you have now completed the program and satisfied your requirements for certification as registrars pursuant to Sec. 9-192a of the Connecticut General Statutes. I know you join me in thanking the Certification Advisory Committee for all their work in developing this comprehensive model curriculum for the training and accreditation of registrars: Anne-Marie Mastroianni, Carole Young-Kleinfeld, John Visi, Carol Hurley, Staff Attorney Lew Button, and SEEC Attorney Kevin Ahern.

The consistently high turnout at these conferences demonstrates how crucial training is and how effective it can be to come together as a group of elections officials. I thank Sue Larsen, President of the Registrars of Voters Association of Connecticut, her committee and my staff for all they have done to prepare for this conference.

Sincerely,

Denise W. Merrill Secretary of the State