

## ROVAC ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES APRIL 26, 2018 Radisson Hotel Cromwell 100 Berlin Road, Cromwell, CT

Meeting was called to order by President Sue Larsen (S. Windsor) at 2:57 PM.

**CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE:** Chris Prue (Vernon) announced a quorum had been established with <u>74</u> members present and eligible to vote. A quorum has been established.

Explanation given by parliamentarian that meeting can continue as remaining members check-in. They can join in as they are qualified and total members eligible to vote will change accordingly throughout the meeting.

Motion to accept Credential Committee report made by <u>Dianne Daniels (Norwich)</u> and seconded by <u>Mike Wyman (Tolland)</u>. Motion carried unanimously.

**MINUTES OF LAST ANNUAL MEETING:** Motion to accept the minutes transmitted as amended for the April 20<sup>th</sup>, 2017 Annual Meeting made by <u>Mary Mourey</u> (<u>E. Hartford</u>) and seconded by <u>Bonnie Anderson</u> (<u>Cromwell</u>). Note: Amendment made to correct the town of Sue Armstrong to (Stafford), who seconded the motion to adjourn. Motion carried unanimously.

PRESIDENTS REPORT: President Sue Larsen (S. Windsor) thanked all the members for the support given her and ROVAC this year. So many committees have worked so hard to make our handbooks better, technology improvements, raising legislation to improve our efficiency. It's all those efforts that has made this year so easy to be president. I started off the year with the lofty goal of making every single meeting, county meeting and unfortunately I didn't make them all. I did attend as many county meetings as I could with the exception of Fairfield, because of conflicting meeting times. I did attend most of the Legislative, Technology and Education Committee meetings and one Certification meeting. Throughout the year, I have attended meetings with SOTS and I continued the open door policy between us and SOTS that began a couple years ago. I have represented ROVAC on the Cyber-Security Taskforce which was set up to improve Connecticut's elections security. We'll be hearing more of that tomorrow when SOTS Merrill comes to speak. Based on the survey that was sent out, a training session for deputies, similar to the New Registrars Day, will be held next winter. This year, for the first time, the Judy Beaudreau Scholarships will be given out. A committee from the ROVAC Board determined to give scholarships to high school students that work the polls. Knowing Judy, this is a perfect way to memorialize her. We will give out three scholarships, with the hopes of doing more as time progresses. I also met with the Regional Election Monitors, since they held regular meetings and I was able to attend at least three of them. The discussions were mostly about moderator training, which is their main focus. Once a system has been developed, ROVAC will host the program and this should allow us to have

better communication and better opportunities for us to know where classes are being held and to get our moderators trained. I met with the CT Education Association (CEA) as youth activism was getting strong across the nation. ROVAC and CEA will team up on voter registration, which we will discuss more tomorrow. This year has been a youthful theme, as we began with speakers from the Red, White and Blue Project, which was an initiative between SOTS and the Department of Education. Also, we had speakers from the American Legion Boys State and American Legion Auxiliary Laurel Girls State programs as they promote youth education in how our state and local governments work. My goal is that all of us will continue to seek out the youth to make democracy work for all of us.

Because of you, it was a wonderful year. Thanks to all of you.

Motion to accept Presidents report made by <u>Mary Mourey (E. Hartford)</u> and seconded by <u>Marie Greene</u> (<u>Southbury</u>). Motion carried unanimously.

**FINANCIAL REPORT:** President Sue Larsen (S.Windsor) explained the Ethics item on the report after a question from the membership. She continued to report that the financial report was transmitted via Constant Contact for all to review prior to and during the Annual Meeting.

Hearing no further questions or concerns, she announced that we will now place the report aside for audit.

**BUDGET PRESENTATION:** Budget Committee Chairman Chris Prue (Vernon) confirmed that the Budget proposal was transmitted via Constant Contact for all to review prior to and during the Annual Meeting. You'll notice that there were some line item additions that were made specifically for the expenses for the conferences and operating costs. This is also reflecting a 0% increase in dues this year. No further discussion requested.

Motion to accept budget by the Executive Vice-President for the coming year made by <u>Melissa Russell</u> (<u>Bethlehem</u>) and seconded by <u>Anita Mips</u> (<u>Windsor</u>). Motion carried.

## **COMMITTEE CHAIR REPORTS (AS NEEDED):**

President Sue Larsen (S. Windsor) asked for all Committee Chairs to stand for recognition. No questions arose for any committee.

Motion to accept all reports as transmitted made by <u>Steve Watkins</u> (<u>E. Hartford</u>) and seconded by <u>Ann Kilby (Marlborough</u>). Motion carried unanimously.

## **COUNTY CHAIR REPORTS (AS NEEDED):**

President Sue Larsen (S. Windsor) asked for all County Chairs to stand for recognition. No questions arose for any County.

Motion to accept all reports as transmitted made by <u>Mary Mourey</u> (<u>E. Hartford</u>) and seconded by Joanne Jelenik (Oxford). Motion carried unanimously.

**UNFINISHED BUSINESS:** None

## **NEW BUSINESS:**

**Judy Beaudreau Scholarship** – President Sue Larsen (S. Windsor) initiated the lottery selection of (3) out of the (26) high school student candidates submitted for a \$250.00 scholarship each.

Scholarship winners for 2018:

- 1. Dylan Karpel (Middletown)
- 2. Talia Fleischmann (Westport)
- 3. Griffin Cox (S. Windsor)

Explanation that profits derived from the Ways & Means raffle and 50/50 collections will now be earmarked for the Judy Beaudreau Scholarship Fund and used exclusively for future scholarships. This was approved in this year's Budget.

NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT (N/A IN EVEN YEARS): N/A

**ELECTIONS (N/A IN EVEN YEARS): N/A** 

**CREDENTIAL COMMITTEE FINAL REPORT:** Chris Prue (Vernon) announced that the final total of eligible members was <u>81</u>.

**ADJOURNMENT:** Motion to adjourn made by <u>Dianne Slopak</u> (<u>Norwich</u>) at <u>3:15 pm</u> / seconded by <u>Mike Wyman</u> (<u>Tolland</u>). Motion carried.

Respectfully Submitted,

Kevin McCauley Secretary