

ROVAC ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES APRIL 20, 2017 Mystic Marriott Hotel - Groton 625 North Road, Groton, CT 06340

Meeting was called to order by President Melissa Russell (Bethlehem) at 2:32 PM.

Motion to recess until registration and credentials are completed made by <u>Anne-Marie Mastroianni</u> (Bethlehem) and seconded by Chris Prue (Vernon). Motion carried.

Meeting called out of recess by President Melissa Russell (Bethlehem) at 2:49 PM.

CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE: Sue Larsen (S. Windsor) announced a quorum had been established with <u>114</u> members present and eligible to vote. There is a quorum. Process rules were explained. Tellers assigned. Motion to accept Credential Committee report made by <u>Sharon Krawiecki</u> (<u>Bristol</u>) and seconded by <u>Anne-Marie Mastroianni</u> (<u>Bethlehem</u>). Motion carried unanimously.

MINUTES OF LAST ANNUAL MEETING: Motion to accept the minutes as transmitted for April 14th, 2016 Annual Meeting made by <u>Helen Mis</u> (<u>Beacon Falls</u>) and seconded by <u>Mary Mourey (E. Hartford</u>). Motion carried.

(17) Abstentions – New Registrars

PRESIDENTS REPORT: President Melissa Russell (Bethlehem) shared past year's accomplishments. In a very interesting year, we survived a presidential election in 2016, not just surviving, we did so with flying colors. Everybody did such a good job and were so well prepared that we knocked one out of the park. Certification classes started and proud of those who started early on, enduring as curriculum evolved. Delighted to announce that we graduated 66 from passing the final exam and becoming the first certified registrars. Another highlight was successfully bringing SOTS back to our conferences. I really believe we're on a better path of rebuilding a positive relationship with SOTS. Because of all of you, we really need to stay in partnership with SOTS and in partnership with training ourselves and our poll workers. The level of professionalism we have been displaying will pay dividends in the long run. It is improving every day.

Motion to accept the President's Report made by <u>Nancy Valentine</u> (<u>Ansonia</u>) and seconded by <u>Lou DeCilio</u> (<u>Stratford</u>). Motion carried unanimously.

FINANCIAL REPORT & COMMITTEE & COUNTY CHAIR REPORTS (AS NEEDED):

Motion to accept all reports as transmitted made by <u>Stephen Watkins</u> (E. Hartford) and seconded by <u>Linda Crowe</u> (Oxford). Motion carried unanimously.

BUDGET PRESENTATION: Budget Committee Chairwoman <u>Sue Larson</u> (S. Windsor) transmitted report to all reflecting a <u>0%</u> increase in dues to this year's budget, much in part to Chris Prue's (Vernon) negotiating skills for conference costs. Thanked this year's committee members Anita Mips (Windsor) and Mary Mourey (E. Hartford) and the assistance of Peter Gostin (New Britain), ROVAC Treasurer.

Motion to accept budget for the coming year made by <u>Rick Marcone</u> (<u>Stratford</u>) and seconded by <u>Sharon</u> Krawiecki (Bristol). No Discussion.

Motion carried unanimously.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS: None

NEW BUSINESS (OTHER THAN ASSOCIATION ELECTIONS): None

NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT: Anne-Marie Mastroianni (Bethlehem) announced slate of candidates that submitted applications/resumes to be considered for office.

- 1. President Sue Larsen (South Windsor)
- 2. Executive VP Chris Prue (Vernon)
- 3. VP Lou DeCilio (Stratford)
- 4. Secretary Kevin McCauley (Bristol)
- 5. Treasurer Peter Gostin (New Britain)

Also announced accepted nominations for Auditors:

- 1. Lisbeth Becker (Glastonbury)
- 2. Dorothy Mrowka (Colchester)
- 3. Cheryl Gianesini (Plymouth)

Asked for nominations from the floor 3X for each office. No nominations from the floor and each nomination was closed. Explanation given for By-Laws requirement to hold election even when there are no contested offices.

Credentials Committee Chair Sue Larsen (S. Windsor) explained the process of this year's elections. Ballots will be handed out to conduct election.

RECESS DECLARED BY PRESIDENT MELISSA RUSSELL (BETHLEHEM) TO ALLOW FOR SET-UP AT 3:04 PM

MEETING CALLED OUT OF RECESS BY PRESIDENT MELISSA RUSSELL (BETHLEHEM) AT 3:08 PM

Credentials Committee Chair Sue Larsen (S. Windsor) further explained check-in process to receive ballot and election began.

Nominating Chair Anne-Marie Mastroianni (Bethlehem) announced results and declared the election closed at 3:13 PM.

ELECTION RESULTS:	ECTION RESULTS: 109 Ballots Cast / 3 Unqualified Write-in Votes:	
	President – Sue Larsen (South Windsor) Received <u>106</u> Votes	
	Executive VP – Chris Prue (Vernon) Received <u>105</u> Votes	
VP - Lou DeCilio (Stratfor		lio (Stratford) Received <u>105</u> Votes
	Treasurer - Peter Gostin (New Britain) Received <u>104</u> Votes Secretary - Kevin McCauley (Bristol) Received <u>105</u> Votes	
	Auditors:	Lisbeth Becker (Glastonbury) Received <u>105</u> Votes Dorothy Mrowka (Colchester) Received <u>104</u> Votes Cheryl Gianesini (Plymouth) Received <u>104</u> Votes
President Melissa Russell (Bethlehem) congratulated elected officers and auditors.		
ADJOURNMENT: Motion to adjourn made by <u>Stephen Watkins</u> (E. Hartford) at <u>3:15 PM</u> / seconded by <u>Sue Armstrong</u> (<u>Stafford</u>). Motion carried.		
Respectfully Submitted,		
Kevin McCauley Secretary		